Robbins, Short, Phipps, Hall and Owen Victorious on Friday Night

By Tom Hammond
Staff Writer

Click to View:  Results

Anderson Speedway kicked off The Star Press Spring Championships on Friday, May 19 with David Short winning the Insight ThunderCar feature, John Robbins scoring the American Awards Legends feature and Rod Phipps was the winner of the Insight ThunderCar Pro division. The MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series also saw Bryce Hall the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 feature win and Randy Owens grab the winning hardware in the Oval main event.

The American Awards Legends feature turned into a dandy three-car battle as Frankton’s John Robbins scored a tight win over Rodney Smith of Indianapolis and defending points champion Daniel Russell. Robbins and Russell traded the lead four times before Robbins took the lead for good with an inside pass in turn 4 on the 25th lap. Smith also got around Russell for second two laps later. Paul Holden and Tony Holden rounded out the top five.

Paul Holden took top honors in the first Legends heat, while Tim George of Indianapolis picked up the win in the second heat. For the second consecutive event, Robbins was the top qualifier with an official clocking of 14.033 seconds.

Anderson’s Dave Short bided his time before taking command to win the Insight ThunderCar feature. Short ran second behind Anderson’s Nick Warner before taking the inside line on the backstretch and through turns 3 and 4 to surge into the lead. Anderson’s Dustin Burge took second from Warner a lap later but couldn’t catch Short for the win. Alexandria’s Alice Riall and Anderson’s Tim Dick completed the top five.

Jeff Dick scored the victory in the first ThunderCar heat while Noblesville’s Katie Beaver picked up her first-career ThunderCar heat win in the second 10-lap preliminary. Warner recorded the fastest qualifying lap with a time of 15.212 seconds, setting a new track record.

Anderson’s Rod Phipps made it look easy in the ThunderCar Pro feature. He got around Wilkinson’s Herb Rose in the early stages on the backstretch and roared to a half-lap victory. Brandon Leisure made a late-race pass on Rose to advance to a second place finish, followed by Josh Myers, Michael Phipps and Rose. Myers held off Rod Phipps to win the ThunderCar Pro 10-lap preliminary heat. Rose turned the fast qualifying lap with a time of 15.512 seconds.

Anderson’s Bryce Hall scored the first win of his career in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 feature. Hall inherited the lead after a several incidents eliminated the front-runners.

The first occurred at the end of the fifth lap when Anderson’s Randy Owen, who was running third at the time, collided with the car of Jimmy Hawkins in the crossover. Both cars were finished for the night with Owen’s car receiving significant front end damage. The second incident involved Nick Warner and Travis Burge. The two front-runners collided in the four turn. Burge had a flat tire and was done, while Warner was ejected after he refused to go to the back of the pack as ordered.

At the checkered flag, the top five included Hall, Anderson’s Allen Wagner, Chesterfield’s Scott Vail, Burge and Warner.

Owen bounced back from his misfortune in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 to dominate the Oval feature. Owen took the lead from Mt. Summit’s Keith Morris on the third lap after the two battled nearly side-by-side on the two opening circuits. Owen then cruised to victory with Morris second followed by Anderson drivers Jeff Wright, Johnny Burge and Muncie’s Bruce McGill.

In preliminary action, heat victories went to Jerry Smith and Jason Crist while Morris posted the top qualifying lap at 16.276 seconds.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, May 20 with The Star Press Spring Championships featuring Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s and Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks.

On Saturday Night, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

Watch the NASCAR All Star Race Saturday Night on our big screen television provided by Chappy’s Rent to Own.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.