Spring Champions Crowned for MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series

By Kyle Larson
Public Relations

Click to View Results

Some familiar names were joined in the Texas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle by some new winners during the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series at Anderson Speedway On May 20. Double points were on the line during the first night of The Star Press Spring Championships Weekend.

Anderson’s Paris Swallows Jr. took the lead on the fourth lap in the 20-lap Insight Thunder Car Figure 8 Feature and held off several charges by Anderson’s Mike Peters the two-car battle. Anderson drivers Roy Grissom Sr., Billy Riddle and Robert Brumback filled out the top five.

The Insight Thunder Car Oval Feature went to Anderson’s David Short as he held off Brandon Phillips. Short nearly lost the lead after he went high in turn two on the 24th lap and Phillips passed Short, but the pass was negated by a yellow flag when Billy Riddle blew an engine and covered turns one and two with oil.

Anderson’s Tim Brown, Alexandria’s Alice Riall and Anderson’s Roy Grissom Jr. rounded out the top five. Mike Rinker and Brumback picked up Thunder Car oval heat victories. A.J. Jones was first to the checkered flag in the second heat, but his car was disqualified for illegal tires.

Albany’s Daniel Russell continued his domination in the Legends division as he picked up his fourth feature win in as many tries. Russell started on the outside of the front row and took the lead from Speedway’s T.J. Sneva with the drop of the green flag. Sneva ended up second, followed by Scott McGinley, John Robbins and Greenwood’s Mark Sullivan. Russell also won the first Legends heat while Greenfield’s Paul Holden took the second heat.

Nick Warner dominated the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 Feature. Warner is 3-for-3 in Figure 8 feature events this season. Warner jumped to a huge lead and never looked back. Warner’s sizeable advantage allowed him to run a cautious race. He slowed down several times in the crossover to allow the bulk of the field to clear the way.

The remainder of the top five included Randy Owen, Daniel Cook, Allen Wagner and Muncie’s Bryan Smith.

Kreigh Leever took top honors in the first of two Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval Feature events. Leever took the lead on the eighth of 20 laps after a spirited battle with Anderson’s Sam Folsom to open the race. Nick Warner passed Folsom for second with Brad Stevens and Travis Burge filling out the top five.

The second Front Wheel Drive Oval Feature was captured by Smith, who took the lead from the pole. Leeroy Cozine nearly took the lead from Smith on the 11th lap with a move to the low side in turn one. Smith was then able to surge back ahead on the backstretch. Cozine saw his night come to an end two laps later as he blew the right front tire on his car in turn two. Chuck Gossett, McCordsville’s Bobby Sanders, Arcadia’s Jerry Small and Anderson’s Don Muckelbauer completed the top five.

Brad Stevens, Chris Dale and Raymond Watson won the FWD oval heats.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action Saturday Night, May 21, with the conclusion of The Star Press Spring Championships. Featured divisions include Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Terry’s RV Sales & Service Street Stocks and Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s.

On Saturday Night, the spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8 p.m. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free. Watch the NASCAR race on our big screen.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.