Rose Notches Double Win Night

By Tom Hammond

Click to View Results

Anderson’s Ronnie Rose continued his hot streak at Anderson Speedway during The Star Tress Saturday Night Series on May 21. Rose won both the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck and Boss Hogg Jerky and Catering Figure 8 features on the final night of The Star Press Spring Championships Weekend. It was the second consecutive week that Rose was able to accomplish the feat.

In the 50-lap Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck feature, Rose was able to pass race leader Tony Broyles of New Castle on a lap 22 restart. Once out front, Rose was able to build a sizeable lead over the other race contenders. The three-time 2005 feature winner avoided disaster on the final lap as several trucks tangled in turn 1 in front of him.

Broyles grabbed second-place honors followed by Josh Burton, Anderson’s Mike Mendenhall and Danville’s Ric Pfeifer. In qualifying, Burton set a new track record with a time of 13.459 seconds. SuperTruck heat race wins went to Brownsburg’s Steve Blair and Wannamaker’s Jake Flagle.

The SuperTruck race didn’t start as planned. An eight-truck pileup in the first turn forced a red flag and a complete restart. The incident unfolded when front-row starters Burton and Broyles tangled just before the start-finish line. Momentum carried both trucks into the first turn and several drivers behind them weren’t able to check up in time.

In the final race of the evening, Rose wasn’t done with his trips to the Texas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle as he picked up his fourth Figure 8 feature win of the season. However, Rose nearly missed the opportunity for victory. On the initial start, he was pushed out the track exit and into the pits. The ensuing yellow flag forced a complete restart, and Rose was able to regain his starting position on the pole.

Rose was then able to cruise to the victory in the 30-lap event with Curtis Chapman finishing second. The top five was completed by point leader Jeff Swinford, Josh Tharp and Jon Conklin. Middletown’s Ronnie Phipps and Conklin won Figure 8 heat races. Rose paced qualifying with a time of 20.246 seconds.

Anderson’s Rod Phipps led flag-to-flag in the Terry’s RV Sales and Service Street Stock feature to pick up his second checkered flag of the season. Rose and New Castle’s Danny Acrey II got off to an even start when the green flag flew, but Phipps was able to surge ahead by the middle of the second lap.

Phipps, Acrey and points leader Rich Boyer of Anderson then made it a three-car race over the remainder of the 40-lap event. Chapman and Markleville’s Randy Hoppes filled out the top five. Hoppes and Jason Puckett were Street Stock heat winners. Phipps led qualifying with a lap of 13.889 seconds.

Next week activities for the 57th Pay Less / Remy International Little 500 kick off on Wednesday, May 25, with practice beginning at 11:15 a.m. The USAC Valvoline National Sprint Car Series will compete in its Central Indiana Chevy Dealers 50 on Wednesday evening. They will be joined the USAC Midwest Ford Focus Midgets.

The 57th Pay Less / Remy International Little 500 round one pole qualifying is set for Thursday, beginning at 1:30 p.m.

On Friday, the 33-car field will be set with the second round of qualifications. Later that night, the Families Forever / Primerica Free Night will take place. The MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series will feature Insight ThunderCars in Oval and Figure 8 racing, Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives Oval and Figure 8 action and an awesome Fireworks show.

On Saturday, May 28, the 57th Pay Less / Remy International Little 500 green flag waves at 8 p.m.

Tickets are available for legendary 57th Pay Less / Remy International Little 500 at $25 for reserved seating. For more information, contact the Anderson Speedway Ticket Office from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.