Beaver, McKinney, Blair and DeHart Record Feature Victories

By Kyle Larson
Public Relations Director

Click to View:  Results - Photo Gallery

The Don Miller Tire Wheel to Wheel Weekend concluded at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, June 3 with Joe Beaver scoring the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck victory. Other winners during The Star Press Saturday Racing Series included Elliott McKinney in Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s, Willy DeHart in Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and Steve Blair in Indy URL Stock Cars.

Continuing his stellar performances in the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Beaver scored his third feature victory in four events. Jerry Faucett grabbed first position at the drop of the green flag with Tim Broyles sailing into the leadership honors on the second go-around. On lap 4, Ric Pfeifer grabbed the lead and held the point until Beaver completed the race-winning pass after a restart on the 14th circuit.

Once Beaver grabbed first position, he pulled away under a long green flag run. A late-race yellow bunched up the front-runners, but Beaver edged away during the final circuits to finish 0.847 seconds ahead of Pfeifer. Third at the checkers was Ronnie Rose with Scott Brooks and Brandon Phillips completing the top-five finishers.

In preliminary action, Beaver visited the winner’s circle in the first heat race with Jamie Hadley grabbing the winning hardware in the second heat. Andrew Brown was the top qualifier at 13.674 seconds, just 0.002 seconds quicker than Josh Poore.

Holding a furious challenge from Rod Phipps, first-year driver Willy DeHart scored his first career victory in the Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks. DeHart drove into first place on lap 8 after getting around Ronnie Phipps. While DeHart held the lead, Rod Phipps advanced from his 10th place starting position and made a late-race charge to the front. He advanced to third position on lap 22 after getting around Ryan Buckner and four laps later ducked underneath Danny Acrey ll for second.

On the final lap, Phipps made a last effort to grab the win, driving underneath DeHart. Exiting turn 4, the two were side-by-side, with Dehart edging Phipps by just 0.020 seconds at the finish. Third was Acrey with Buckner and Jake McElfresh filling out the top five.

DeHart and Anthony Whiteman recorded heat race victories with Rod Phipps the top qualifier at 14.335 seconds.

In the Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s feature, Elliott McKinney grabbed the lead at the start and held off several challenges from former division champion Ronnie Rose. After the final restart, Rose made a final attempt to grab the win, but was forced to settle for runner-up honors. Shawn Cullen crossed the line third with Rob Allman and Michael Phipps rounding out the top five.

Josh Tharp earned top honors in the first heat race with Johnny Magee taking the checkers in the second heat. Rose was the fastest qualifier at 19.276 seconds.

In the Indy URL Stock Cars 50 lap feature, Danny Trent grabbed the lead at the start and held off several challenges from Blair. Using the lower groove, Blair sailed into first place on the 22nd circuit and then pulled away for a comfortable victory. Trent crossed the finish line in second place with Stuart Quakenbush in third place. Chad Gaskill with Bob Dumke completing the top five.

John Heck and Kevin Liles grabbed heat race victories with Heck posted the best qualifying lap at 13.637 seconds.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Friday, June 9, with the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series featuring American Awards Legends, Insight ThunderCars, Pro ThunderCars and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 racing.

On Saturday, June 10, The Star Press Saturday Racing Series will showcase X2RA Midgets, Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s and Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.