Tomasik, Burton and Phipps Capture Feature Victories

By Tom Hammond

Click to View Results

The final night of the Don Miller Tire Wheel to Wheel Weekend on Saturday, June 4, at Anderson Speedway produced a charge through the pack, two flag-to-flag victories and a major crash involving at least a half-dozen race machines. The Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks and the Boss Hogg Jerky and Catering Figure 8 divisions from the Star Press Saturday Night Series joined the USA Modified Tour to fill out the card.

Scotty Tomasik picked up his first career victory in the USA Modified Tour, as he scored a flag-to-flag victory. Season points leader Gary Bedell was hot on his tail the final 20 laps of the 50-lap feature, as Damon Breedlove and New Castle’s Harold Scott remained in contention. Fast qualifier Jeff Weston rounded out the top five.

Weston picked up the win in the USA Modified five-lap dash, while Scott won the heat race and Todd Griggs won the B main event.

Defending points champion Josh Burton scored his second feature win of the season in the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck feature in a race punctuated by a major first lap incident. The engine blew on the truck of Indianapolis’s Joe Clements, spewing oil all over the racing groove coming out of the backstretch and into turn three. At least six trucks ended up involved in the ensuing tangle, including the trucks of Joe Beaver, Josh Poore, Robert Lemen, Tony Broyles and Danville’s Ric Pfeifer. Several of the trucks careened hard into the protective barrels in the third turn. Fortunately, none of the drivers were hurt and several were able to remain in the race.

Burton started 13th after leading qualifying with a time of 13.482 seconds on the world’s fastest quarter-mile paved oval and drawing a full inversion for the start. He avoided catastrophe during the first lap melee and worked his way through the remainder of the field after the race resumed.

The Greenfield racer passed Scott Brooks for the lead between turns 3 and 4 on the 14th lap with a nice move to the low side. Burton ended up with a straightaway win over Beaver, who was subbing for Jake Owens. Scott Brooks finished third with Poore and Wannamaker’s Jake Flagle completing the top five. Beaver and Brooks won the SuperTruck heat events.

Middletown’s Ronnie Phipps picked up his first feature win of the season in the Boss Hogg Catering and Jerky Figure 8 main event. Phipps started on the pole and led flag-to-flag. Some major jockeying back in the pack, however, proved to be the best racing of the 20-lap race.

Anderson’s Curtis Chapman started eighth and made his way up to second by the time the checkered flag was displayed. Shawn Cullen, Jeff Swinford and Alexandria’s John Goforth completed the top five. Ronnie Phipps also scored the win in the first Figure 8 heat race, while Anderson’s Josh Tharp was victorious in the second heat.

Racing action resumes at Anderson Speedway on Friday, June 10, with the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series featuring Limited Late Models, Insight ThunderCars in Oval and Figure 8 action and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives on the Oval and Figure 8.

On Saturday Night, June 11, The Star Press Saturday Night Series will showcase Terry’s RV Sales & Service Street Stocks, Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s and a special appearance from the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.