Swallows Sweeps ThunderCar Features; Teepe, Conklin and Folsom Also Score Wins

By Tom Hammond

Click to View Results - Photo Gallery

Anderson’s Paris Swallows Jr. took the checkered flag in both the Insight ThunderCar Figure 8 and Oval features Friday night, June 10, at Anderson Speedway. Chris Teepe, Jon Conklin and Sam Folsom also picked up victories during the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series on warm, humid night at the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval.

Robert Brumback took the early lead in the Insight ThunderCar Figure 8 feature, only to see Swallows charge to the lead in the crossover at the end of the third lap. Swallows then bolted out to a comfortable lead that he maintained over the remaining 12 laps for his third appearance in the Texas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle this year.

Mike Peters, Terry Malone, Tim Nickerson and Darryl Rogers rounded out the top five. Brumback and Yorktown’s Billy Riddle both appeared to have top five finishes but were disqualified for having illegal springs at the post-race technical inspection.

Swallows then completed his big night when he took the lead on the 17th of 20 laps in the Insight ThunderCar oval feature. He was able to pass Alexandria’s Alice Riall in traffic in the first turn after lapped traffic forced Riall from the first position. It was Swallows first feature victory in the Oval division for 2005. Anderson’s Brandon Phillips, Billy Riddle, Kyle Dautrich and Lonny Burton rounded out the top five.

Brumback came back from an injury suffered last week to win the first Insight ThunderCar heat race. It was his third heat win of the season. Anderson’s Darryl Rogers scored his first victory of the year in the second heat.

Jon Conklin scored the win in the Limited Late Model feature race. He had some luck in the feature race after mechanical problems sidelined race leader Mike Coates. It first appeared that a fire had erupted on the right front of Coates’ car. He re-entered the race in the lead, but erupted in smoke at the restart on the 21st of 25 laps.

Conklin then inherited the lead and held off Scott Hinshaw at the finish. Jason Fullen and Mike Riddle Jr. joined Coates in filling out the top five. Riddle was victorious in the Limited Late Model heat race.

Folsom scored his second feature win of the season in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval feature. He bolted to the lead after a restart on the fifth lap. Mt. Summit’s Keith Morris had the quick car early, but he fell back after the restart on lap five. Folsom then held off Anderson’s Kreigh Leever to score the win.

After the race officials disqualified Leever for rough driving and also disqualified the third place car of Nick Warner for unsportsmanlike conduct. That moved Dustin Burge to second place, followed by Devin Mitchell, Travis Burge and Keith Harmon.

Leever scored his second heat win of the season in the first Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval heat, with Travis Erhart and Raymond Watson also claiming checkered flags in preliminary action.

In the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s, Chris Teepe picked up his second win of the season. He appeared to have a commanding lead for most of the 15-lap feature, but Anderson’s Nick Warner flew through the field and into contention on the final lap. Teepe was slowed by several near-misses in the crossover as Warner closed the gap.

The two ended up side-by-side heading through the crossover after the final turn. Warner appeared to surge ahead as they neared the finish line, but the two made contact and Warner spun, giving Teepe the win. Travis Burge, Morris and Anderson’s Allen Wagner filled out the top five.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action Saturday Night, June 11, with The Star Press Saturday Night Series featuring Terry’s RV Sales & Service Street Stocks, Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 racing.

On Saturday Night, the spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8 p.m. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

 For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.