Warner Wins Two Features During MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series

By Tom Hammond

Click to View Results - Photo Gallery

Anderson’s Nick Warner made two appearances in the Texas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle during the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series at Anderson Speedway on June 24. Markleville’s Terry Malone Jr., Shirley’s Mike Coates and Anderson’s Sam Folsom were also winners during the first night of the Texas Roadhouse Racing Through the Night Weekend.

Warner started his big night by winning his sixth Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 feature. He started fifth on the grid and bolted up to second after the end of the first lap. Warner then took the lead the next time around and never looked back in the 10-lap main event. Travis Burge placed second with Allen Wagner listed in the third finishing position. Mt. Summit’s Keith Morris and Chris Teepe rounded out the top five.

Warner’s superb night continued in the Insight ThunderCar Oval main event, scoring the feature victory in just his second appearance in the division. Warner emerged from a five-car battle to grab the checkered flag. He completed the pass for the victory on the 17th circuit, bypassing Brandon Phillips. At the finish Phillips was second with Billy Riddle listed in third position. Alice Riall and William Coffman completed the top-five finishers.

Darryl Rogers took top honors in the first Insight ThunderCar Oval heat, while Anderson’s Jesse King won the second heat. Clint Groves paced qualifying with a time of 15.406 seconds to earn his fourth fast time of the season.

In the Insight ThunderCar Figure 8’s, Terry Malone Jr. scored his third feature victory of the season. Malone sailed into the first position on the third circuit after Paris Swallows dropped from the top spot with mechanical problems. Malone paced the field until Billy Riddle took the point on the sixth lap. After Riddle was involved in an altercation near the cross-over on the 12th circuit, Malone recaptured the lead. At the finish, Malone was followed by Darryl Rogers, Donnie Ellis Jr., Steve Eytchison and Tim Nickerson.

Continuing his strong season, Sam Folsom recorded his fourth Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval victory. He passed Travis Burge on the seventh of 15 laps with a move to the high side in turn four. Burge’s brother Dustin ended up second followed by Brad Stevens, Warner and Travis Burge to round out the top five.

Devin Mitchell of Anderson won the first Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval heat, while Josh Wood was victorious in the second heat. Kreigh Leever paced qualifying with a time of 16.068 seconds.

The Limited Late Models made their second appearance in three weeks on the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval and Shirley’s Mike Coates was the beneficiary of some tough luck for Frankton’s Wes Russell Jr. in the feature event. Russell appeared to have the race sewn up with a half-lap lead over Coates. However, the left front tire on Russell’s car went flat four laps from the end of the 30-lap race. Coates then inherited the lead for the win. Anderson’s Jason Fullen finished second followed by Russell and Anderson drivers Mike Riddle Jr. and Jon Conklin.

Coates was also victorious in the Limited Late Model heat race with Riddle, Russell, Coates and Fullen completing the top five. Conklin led qualifying with a time of 13.377 seconds.

The Texas Roadhouse Racing Through the Night Weekend concludes at Anderson Speedway on Saturday Night, June 24, with the first appearance of the Hoosier Outlaw Sprint Series, the world’s fastest Sprint Cars on the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval. The Terry’s RV Sales & Service Street Stocks, Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives will also be featured during The Star Press Saturday Night Series.

On Saturday Night, the spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8 p.m. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

 For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.