Harrison, Rose and Boyer Claim Top Honors

By Tom Hammond

Click to View Results

Two familiar names visited the Texas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle and a spectacular accident highlighted The Star Press Saturday Night Series at Anderson Speedway during the second night of the Titan Auto Insurance Independence Celebration Weekend on July 2.

Mark Harrison of Indianapolis scored a flag-to-flag win in the USA Modified Tour 50-lap feature in a race that was marred by a major incident on the backstretch during the 39th circuit. A half-dozen cars were involved in the crash, with the No. 00 machine of Columbia City’s Brian Lolmaugh taking the worst of it. Lolmaugh’s machine was knocked perpendicular to the track front end-first before landing back on its wheels, suffering heavy damage. Jack Black III of Vandalia, Ohio and Don Logan of Charlotte, Michigan were also eliminated.

After racing resumed, Harrison held off challenges from Brad Springer to score an emotional victory. He dedicated the win to the memory of his father-in-law, Ed Martin, who passed away about a month-and-a-half ago. Brad Springer of Hudson, Gary Bedell of Greenfield, Chris Neuenschwander of New Haven and Cory Setser of Fort Wayne rounded up the top five.

In preliminary action, Harrison also won the five-lap dash, while Bud Gray III of Petoskey, Mich., and Mike Thurman of Indianapolis won the heat and B-main races, respectively. Jeff Weston led qualifying with a time of 12.740 seconds.

Anderson’s Rich Boyer made another dash to the front to win his eighth Terry’s RV Sales and Service Street Stock feature of the season. Alexandria’s Jamie Williams took the early lead from the outside of the front row and held the advantage until the sixth of 30 laps. Markleville’s Randy Hoppes then passed Williams in turns one and two and took over the point for the next 22 circuits.

Hoppes saw his advantage go away on the 28th lap when his car spun in turn 4. Boyer, who started 15th and progressively moved through the field, took advantage and moved into the lead. Rod Phipps, Bruce McFall, Jeff Powers and Scotty Roberts completed the top five. Roberts and Kyle Flynn captured Street Stock heat wins, while Boyer paced qualifying with a time of 14.008 seconds.

Ronnie Rose has made a habit of appearing in the Texas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle this season in both the Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8 and Ed Martin SuperTruck divisions this year. He scored his fourth feature win of 2005 in convincing fashion in SuperTrucks. Rose took the lead on the eighth of 40 laps after early leader Joe Warfield Jr. of Brownsburg fell off the pace.

Point’s leader Tony Broyles of New Castle continued his impressive season with finishing a strong second. Defending division champion Josh Burton placed third with Indianapolis’ Robert Lemen and Danville’s Ric Pfeifer rounding out the top five.

Warfield picked up the win in the first Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck heat race, while Muncie’s David Brown was victorious in the second heat. Yorktown’s Andrew Brown set a new track record for the SuperTrucks in qualifying with a time of 13.406 seconds, capturing his first fast time of his career.

The Titan Auto Insurance Celebration Weekend concludes on Monday, July 4, with The Right Movers Figure 8 Madness. Featured events include the 1 Hour Figure 8 Enduro, School Bus Figure 8’s and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s. After the racing program comes to a close, Anderson Speedway will feature an awesome fireworks show.

On Monday, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with racing beginning at 7. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free. Titan Auto Insurance will hand out free t-shirts to fans.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.