Ronnie Rose Wins 1 Hour Figure 8 Enduro
Baker, Nickerson, Roxanne and Tony Grissom Also Win

Story By Kyle Larson

Click to View:  Results

Anderson Speedway returned to racing action on July 4th with the Titan Auto Insurance Figure 8 Madness. After a two hour rain delay, race fans were treated to an awesome fireworks show and then a great racing lineup with the 1 Hour Figure 8 Enduro, School Bus Figure 8’s and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s.

Anderson’s Ronnie Rose scored his second victory in the three year history of the 1 Hour Figure 8 Enduro. Rose’s teammate Shawn Cullen grabbed the pole position with a lap of 19.164. He paced the opening eight circuits with Josh Tharp charging into leadership honors on the ninth go-around.

Tharp and Cullen swapped the lead a couple more times before Tharp then took control on the 15th circuit. He then dominated the next portion of the race until lap 35. The lead pack approached the stalled machine of William Coffman with Tharp and third running Joe Hart colliding with Coffman. That knocked Tharp from the top spot to pit area for lengthy repairs. He lost 16 laps. Coffman and Hart were finished for the night.

Rose grabbed the lead after that accident with Rob Allman and Cullen chasing Rose. Middletown’s Elliott McKinney was in fourth position, the last lead lap machine. That was the way they were running at half way, when the teams had a 10-minute break.

The second half began with Allman getting a great jump on Rose and sailing into first position. Allman drove a superb second half race as he began to pull away from Rose. Then on the 105th circuit, while Allman was trying to avoid Curtis Chapman at the crossover, Allman had to take evasive action and lost the top spot to Rose. On the 114th lap, Allman dropped out with mechanical problems.

Rose then pulled way from Shawn Cullen and Elliott McKinney at the finish of the 1 Hour Enduro that equaled 127 laps. The remainder of the top-five finishers included Curtis Chapman and Ronnie Phipps.

Anderson’s David Baker made his first season appearance in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 a good one as he took the checkered flag in the action-packed 15-lap event on a wet slippery track. Baker completed the race-winning pass on early race leader Travis Burge on the third circuit.

Randy Owen charged from mid pack to advance to runner-up honors. Third at the finish was point’s leader Nick Warner with Rickie Tharp and Donnie Ellis completing the top-five finishers.

In the Powder Puff School Bus feature, Roxanne Grissom took the checkered flag. She grabbed the top spot on the first circuit and then drove to a comfortable victory over Kendra Burgess, Becky Stanley, Kim McKinney and Alice Riall.

Two features were held in the School Bus Figure 8’s with Tony Grissom charging from the back of the field to grab the win in the first event. He was followed by Michael Day, Basil Stanley, Corey Elliott and Ronnie Phipps.

Tim Nickerson scored a flag-to-flag victory in the second School Bus Figure 8. He had several close calls in the crossover. Chasing Nickerson across the line were Josh Walker, Ranny Hinton, Bobby Greenwood and Paul Hobbs.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Friday, July 7 and Saturday, July 8, with the Cooper’s Sport Bowl / Shout’s Perfect Score Weekend. On July 7, the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series lineup includes Kenyon Midgets, Insight ThunderCars & Pro ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 racing.

On July 8, The Star Press Saturday Night Series will feature Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and the Midwest Super Cup Showdown for the Mini-Cups.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.