Lemen, Riddle, McKinney and Woodson Score Victories

Story By Kyle Larson

Click to View:  Results - Photo Gallery

Anderson Speedway showcased four exciting divisions on the final night of the Cooper’s Sport Bowl / Shout’s Perfect Score Weekend at Anderson Speedway on July 8. The Star Press Saturday Night Series featured Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and Mini Stocks.

In the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck feature, Indianapolis’ Bob Lemen recorded the biggest victory of his career. At the drop of the green flag, former division champion Josh Burton got the jump on Ronnie Rose to sail into leadership honors. While Rose was attempting to get around Burton for the lead, Lemen was able to pass Rose for second position using the lower lane. Then Lemen bypassed Burton for first place and began distancing himself from the remainder of his closest challengers.

While the battle was on for second place, Lemen built a sizeable lead. Later in the event, Rose was able to advance into second place, but couldn’t make up the distance on Lemen. Following, Lemen and Rose across the finish line included New Castle’s Mark Jones, Josh Poore and Andrew Brown.

In preliminary action, Josh Burton scored the win in the first Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck heat race with his teammate Joe Beaver visiting the O’Reilly Auto Parts Winner’s Circle in the second heat. Anderson’s Josh Poore was quick time with a lap of 13.619 seconds.

The Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks put on another great 30-lap feature with Mike Riddle Jr. producing his second victory of the season. New Castle’s J.D. Blankenship darted into first position at the start of the event, getting the jump on front-row starters Brian Long and Brian Slavey.

Blankenship held the point until Ronnie Phipps powered into first position. While Ronnie Phipps was pacing the field, the cars of Mike Riddle Jr., Rich Boyer and Rod Phipps began to charge from deep in the running order to challenge for the race win.

During the closing stages, Ronnie Phipps continued to hold the lead with Riddle, Rod Phipps and Rich Boyer chasing. With two laps remaining, Riddle got inside of Ronnie Phipps and the two touched with Ronnie Phipps then spinning and making contact with the third turn wall.

On the final restart, Riddle held off Rod Phipps by 0.250 seconds. Three-time division champion Rich Boyer grabbed third with Willy DeHart and Mark Goettman completing the top-five finishers.

Ryan Buckner won the first heat race with Ronnie Phipps taking the winning hardware in heat number 2. Rod Phipps posted quick time honors with a lap of 14.204 seconds.

Middletown’s Elliott McKinney continued his superb Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8 season with visiting the O’Reilly Auto Parts Winner’s Circle in the 20-lap feature. He was forced to fend off challenges from Noblesville’s Josh Tharp all race long including a furious last effort on the final circuit.

On the final lap heading into turn 3, McKinney and Tharp made contact while trying to get around the car of Ranny Hinton. McKinney was able to hold on to first position. Third running Rob Allman slid by Tharp for second and nearly took away the win from McKinney at the line. Tharp held on for third place with Shawn Cullen and Michael Phipps filling out the top five.

Rob Allman earned the victory in the first Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s with Curtis Chapman taking the win in the second heat. McKinney was the fast qualifier at 19.279 seconds.

The Mini Cups made their lone 2006 appearance at Anderson Speedway in the Midwest Super Cup Showdown 35. Gary Woodson scored a dominating victory over the 29-car starting field. Woodson was able to construct a full straightaway advantage before a couple late race caution periods.

At the finish, Stephen Hershey and Dan Gettlifinger followed Woodson. The rest of the top five consisted of Ken Jones and Tom Miller. Heat race wins went to Woodson, Mic Ellis and Dakota Potts.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Friday, July 14, with the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series showcasing American Awards Legends, Insight ThunderCars, Pro ThunderCars and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

On Saturday, July 15, don’t miss the Anderson 400 presented by Great Deals featuring the CRA Super Series Late Models in a 250-lap showdown and the CRA Street Stocks in a 150-lap event.

Advanced Anderson 400 adult tickets are $10, the regular Saturday Night ticket price. On Raceday, adult tickets will be $15 with kids 6-12 admitted for $4 and five and under free.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.