Surprise Finishes Dominate MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series

Story By Kyle Larson

Click to View:  Results

Two penalties, a slide and a flat tire changed three of the five feature finishes during the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series at Anderson Speedway on July 14. Fans enjoyed the surprising finishes on a warm, humid and breezy night at the World’s Fastest Quarter Mile Oval.

What started out as a runaway in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 feature turned into a hotly-contested three car battle. Anderson’s David Baker jumped to a huge early lead only to be black-flagged on the 5th of 12 laps for exceeding his qualifying time.

Anderson’s Bryce Hall then inherited the point with fellow Anderson drivers Randy Owen and Nick Warner hot on his tail. Owen finally surged ahead of Hall two laps from the finish for the lead, with Warner following suit to take over second. Owen then held off Warner and Hall in a nose-to-tail finish for the win. Anderson’s Allen Wagner and Mt. Summit’s Keith Morris rounded out the top five. Warner paced qualifying with a time of 21.778 seconds.

Alexandria’s Alice Riall took advantage of a late-race slide by fellow Alexandria driver Darryl Rogers to win the Insight ThunderCar oval feature. Anderson’s Mark Lightfoot built a commanding lead over the first 16 laps only to develop a flat left front tire during a caution period.

That gave the lead to Rogers with Riall right on his tail. Rogers then slid two laps from the end in turn four, and Riall bolted to the outside to take the lead and her third feature win of 2006. Warner came from the back of the pack to finish second followed by fellow Anderson driver Dustin Burge, Fortville’s Lonny Burton and Anderson’s Tim Dick.

The first Insight ThunderCar heat went to Anderson’s Jeff Dick, while Robbie Wyman took top honors in the second heat. Riall led qualifying with a time of 15.259 seconds.

For the second time in the last few weeks an East Coast driver made the long journey to the World’s Fastest Quarter Mile Oval to win the American Awards Legends feature. Addison Rogers of Winchester, Virginia, took the lead on the ninth lap and then cruised to a commanding victory. Indianapolis’s Rodney Smith, Frankton’s John Robbins, Albany’s Daniel Russell and Indianapolis’s James Edsall III rounded out the top five.

Robbins scored the win in the first Legends heat after Russell was penalized for rough driving. Pendleton’s Mark Dietzen took the checkered flag in the second heat.

Anderson’s Donnie Ellis III won his first Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval feature of the year in a race that appeared to be going to Morris. At the start, Morris went from the back of the pack to third within the first two laps. He was then penalized two spots two laps from the end during a caution period for jumping the start. Morris managed to make up one spot, but didn’t have enough time to catch Ellis at the finish. Owen, Alexandria’s Kevin Harmon and Anderson’s Jerry Smith also scored top five finishes.

Morris was victorious in the first Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval heat. Gregg Wiley paced the field in the second heat.

Anderson’s Shane Cullen picked up his third Insight ThunderCar Pro feature win of the season as he held off fellow Anderson drivers Chris Bair Sr. and season points leader Rod Phipps. Cullen jumped to the lead from the start and maintained the advantage over Bair and a hard-charging Phipps throughout the 20-lap event. Chesterfield’s Brandon Leisure and Anderson’s Ronnie Phipps completed the top five.

Rod Phipps grabbed the checkered flag in the Insight ThunderCar Pro heat with a last-lap pass of Cullen. In qualifying, Rod Phipps posted the best time with a lap of 15.283 seconds.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, July 15, with the Anderson 400 presented by Great Deals featuring the CRA Super Series Late Models in a 250-lap showdown and the CRA Street Stocks in a 150-lap event.

Adult tickets will be $15 with kids 6-12 admitted for $4 and five and under free. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. on Saturday with qualifying set for 6:45 and the racing program starting at 8.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.