Phipps, Edsall Earn First Victories Before Rain Showers

Story By Kyle Larson

Click to View:  Results - Photo Gallery

Anderson Speedway returned to racing action on Friday, July 21 with rain showers delaying the start of practice and ultimately forcing the postponement of the Insight ThunderCar, Pro ThunderCar and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval features until Friday, July 28.

Prior to the rain showers, the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series featured two new winners, Ronnie Phipps grabbed the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 victory and James Edsall was awarded the win in the rain-shortened American Awards Legends main event.

In the American Awards Legends feature, Edsall darted into the first position and then was forced to fend off several challenges from Ohio’s Bryan Nuckles. On several occasions, Nuckles was able to get underneath the race leader, but Edsall was able to hold off Nuckles. During the mid point of the 25-lap event, rain showers forced a couple of yellow flags.

When the rain briefly stopped, racing resumed and Edsall was able to hold off Nuckles for his first victory. The race was made official on lap 21 after a heavy rain showers. Behind the two front-runners included Indianapolis’ Rodney Smith, Albany’s Daniel Russell and Tim George.

In preliminary action, Edsall won the first American Awards Legends heat race while Mark Dietzen grabbed the winning hardware in the second heat. Russell was the top qualifier at 14.126 seconds.

Making his first season appearance of the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s, Ronnie Phipps visited the Winner’s Circle. At the start, Phipps grabbed the lead with Keith Morris and David Baker chasing him. On the second lap, Baker grabbed second from Morris and then after a lap and half battle with Phipps, Baker grabbed the first position.

On lap six, Baker’s tire broke, knocking him and third place runner Donnie Ellis from the race. That gave Phipps the lead back and he then cruised to the victory. Morris was second with Nick Warner, Allen Wagner and Baker completing the top five.

Before the rain showers, Mark Lightfoot and Darryl Rogers won Insight ThunderCar heat races. Nick Warner set fast time with a lap of 15.330 seconds, just 0.008 seconds quicker than Katie Beaver.

Shane Cullen continued his strong performances with earning the Insight ThunderCar Pro heat race win. Rod Phipps recorded the top qualifying time with at lap of 15.197 seconds.

Making his first appearance of 2006, Bryan Wright won the first Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval heat with Tom Crum the victor in the second heat. In qualifying, Keith Morris set the pace with a lap of 16.290 seconds.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, July 22, with the 57th Best Way Disposal National Crown presented by Anderson Sign and Banner showcasing the Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s in a 75-lap feature event. The Star Press Saturday Night Series will also feature Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks and Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks.

Adult tickets will be $10 with kids 6-12 admitted for $4 and five and under free. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. on Saturday with qualifying set for 6:30 and the racing program starting at 8.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.