Baker, Burge, Swallows, Marsh and Riddle Score Feature Wins

By Tom Hammond

Click to View Results - Photo Gallery


Five different feature races produced five different winners during the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series at Anderson Speedway on Friday, August 12.

Andersonís Paris Swallows Jr. scored his sixth feature win of 2005 in the Insight ThunderCar Figure 8 feature despite spinning in the crossover during one of the four starts of the 15-lap event. James Peterson took the lead from the outside of the front row at the start, but Swallows and Andersonís Billy Riddle surged passed Peterson on the fourth lap.

Current pointís leader Terry Malone Jr. and veteran Roy Grissom Sr. also worked around Peterson as he slid low in the third turn of the Figure 8 course. Swallows, Riddle and Malone then pulled away from the rest of the pack, and Swallows held Riddle at bay to pick up the checkered flag. Malone ended up third followed by Grissom and Peterson.

Andersonís David Baker held off fellow Anderson driver John Burge to win the Chappyís Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 feature. Towards the conclusion of the event, Baker and second running Chris Teepe tangled, but Baker was able to regain control and pick up the win. Burge made a late-race charge to placed second followed by Anderson drivers Shane Cullen, Allen Wagner and Nick Warner to round out the top five.

Muncieís Todd Marsh scored his second consecutive victory as the Limited Late Models visited Anderson Speedway for the fourth time this season. Marsh built a commanding half-lap lead by the half-way point of the 30-lap feature, only to see that margin go away because of caution flag on the 19th circuit caused by debris on the track.

Marsh quickly rebuilt his advantage on the restart and cruised to a comfortable victory. Andersonís Jon Conklin was second followed by Franktonís Wes Russell Jr., Andersonís Mike Riddle Jr. and Shirleyís Mike Coates.

Conklin was victorious in the Limited Late Model heat race, while Russell paced qualifying with a time of 13.249 seconds.

Billy Riddle made his way into the Texas Roadhouse Winnerís Circle for the third time this season in the Insight ThunderCar Oval feature. Riddle was able to jump into contention early in the 20-lap event despite starting ninth. Riddle then took the lead on the fourth lap from Andersonís Tom Tacket and built a half-lap lead by the mid-way point.

Fellow Anderson driver Brandon Phillips tried to close the gap after getting through traffic but Riddle had too much of a cushion. Phillips ended up second followed by Alexandriaís Alice Riall and fellow Anderson drivers David Short and Jeff Dick. Andersonís Brian Vaughn appeared to finish fifth but was disqualified after a post-race inspection for an illegal frame height.

Riall scored the win in the first ThunderCar oval heat, while Andersonís Jeff Eytchison was victorious in the second heat. Short led qualifying with a time of 15.702 seconds.

A disqualification changed the winner of the Chappyís Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval feature. Alexandriaís Kevin Harmon appeared to pick up the victory over Anderson's Dustin Burge, but Harmon was disqualified after the race for going to his pit before going to the post-race inspection. As a result Dustin Burge was awarded the victory with John Burge in the second position. Baker, Brad Stevens and Sam Folsom completed the top five.

Travis Erhart won the first eight-lap heat race, while Andersonís Travis Burge took top honors in the second heat. Andersonís Brad Stevens paced qualifying with a time of 15.991 seconds.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, August 13, with the final appearance of the CRA Super Series Late Models in the Anderson 125 presented by Great Deals. The Terryís RV Sales & Service Street Stocks and Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8ís will also be showcased during The Star Press Saturday Night Series.

On Saturday Night, spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. with racing beginning at 8. Admission is $13 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.