Imel, Burge, Bair, Morris and Baker Record Friday Night Victories

Story By Kyle Larson

Click to View:  Results

Anderson Speedway returned to racing action on Friday, August 18, with the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series featuring Kenyon Midgets, Insight ThunderCars & Pro ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives.

The Kenyon Midgets made their second season appearance on Friday Night and Anderson’s Sammy Imel made it two consecutive victories. The 30-lap feature began with newcomer Ryan Miller charging into the lead. He was able to build a sizeable lead, but down the stretch the race turned into a five car battle for the victory.

On the 22nd circuit, Imel made a great move around Miller to take the lead. Once Imel was out front, he was able to hold on for the victory. Miller did a masterful job of finishing in second spot in front of Chris Windom, Kenny Biro and Blake Fitzpatrick.

In preliminary action, Windom and Imel grabbed heat race victories while Kyle Hamilton paced qualifying with a lap of 12.517 seconds.

Dustin Burge extended his Insight ThunderCar point’s lead with earning his fourth feature victory of the season. The race began with Greenfield’s Shantell Banks pacing the opening four laps. After an early caution period, Burge got a great restart and sailed around Banks to grab the first position on the fifth circuit.

Once out front, Burge then held off numerous challenges from Nick Warner. At the finish, Burge and Warner were followed by Banks, Katie Beaver and Alexandria’s Alice Riall.

Banks won the first Insight ThunderCar heat race while Jeff Eytchison grabbed the wining hardware in the second heat. Warner was the top qualifier at 15.246 seconds.

In the Insight ThunderCar Pro feature, Anderson’s Chris Bair Sr. got the jump on Ronnie Phipps and then never looked back, earning his fourth checkered flag of the season. At the conclusion of the 20-lap feature, Bair was followed by Brandon Leisure and Rod Phipps. Fourth-place honors went to Herb Rose with Ronnie Phipps in fifth spot.

Leisure won the Insight ThunderCar Pro heat race and Rose established a new track record in qualifying with an official clocking of 15.018 seconds.

Mt. Summit’s Keith Morris responded from an accident in the heat race to score his seventh Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval feature win of the season. Anderson’s Jerry Smith led the opening stages of the event with Morris steadily advancing through the field.

On the 12th lap, Morris drove underneath Smith to complete the race-winning pass. At the finish, Morris was chased by Smith with Kevin Harmon placing third. Devin Mitchell and Tony Crum filled out the top-five finishers.

In heat race action, Tony Crum visited the Winner’s Circle in the first heat with Rickie Craig winning the second heat. Morris was the fast qualifier at 16.252 seconds.

The Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s produced another exciting event with David Baker scoring his fifth feature victory. Ronnie Phipps grabbed the top spot at the start, pacing the opening seven circuits. A flat tire then knocked him out of contention, giving the first position to Baker.

Baker then cruised to the Winner’s Circle. Donnie Ellis Jr. grabbed runner-up honors with points leader Nick Warner in third position. Robert Johnson and Keith Morris completed the top five. In qualifying, Baker posted the best time with a lap of 21.471 seconds.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, August 19 with The Star Press Saturday Night Series showcasing Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s

On Saturday Night, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.