Beaver, Phipps and Pitts Victorious

Story By Tom Hammond

Click to View:  Results

Anderson Speedway returned to action on Saturday, August 19 with The Star Press Saturday Night Series featuring Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s.

Noblesville’s Joe Beaver scored his second consecutive Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck feature victory. At the drop of the green flag, Scott Brooks grabbed the first position. He led until the eighth circuit when second-year racer Josh Poore took over first place.

Poore then began to dominate and appeared to be headed for his second career victory. Then with five laps remaining, Poore’s engine expired, bringing out the first caution period of the 40-lap race.

That advanced Beaver to leadership honors and he then held off Ronnie Rose during the final stages. Bob Lemen placed third with Andrew Brown and Ric Pfeifer completing the top-five finishers.

In preliminary action, Beaver visited the O’Reilly Auto Parts Winner’s Circe in the first heat race while Brandon Phillips scored the win in the second heat. Bob Lemen recorded his fourth consecutive quick time at 13.680 seconds.

Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stock points leader Rod Phipps drove a superb race, advancing from the back of the pack to score the win in the 30-lap main event.

New Castle’s Danny Acrey darted into the top spot at the drop of the green flag. While Acrey was pacing the field, both Phipps and Bret Miles Jr. began their normal charges to the front of the pack. At the midway point in the feature, Phipps and Miles were scored in third and fourth. Then Miles experienced left front damage after contact with Mike Cain in turn 4.

As Miles began to slip back, Phipps continued his charge, passing Cain on lap 22 for second-place honors. Phipps then closed the gap on Acrey for the lead. With an inside move, Phipps appeared to have taken the lead, when a yellow flow negated his pass on Acrey.

That setup a dash to the checkered flag, producing an awesome battle between Phipps and Acrey. The two raced side-by-side the remaining laps with Phipps edging Acrey at the finish line by 0.372 seconds. Third at the checkers was Cain with Miles and Willy DeHart filling out the top five.

In heat race action, DeHart and Acrey scored victories. Miles was fast qualifier at 14.306 seconds.

The Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s produced another new winner as Anderson’s Jason Pitts visited the O’Reilly Auto Parts Winner’s Circle. Pitts got the jump on Mike Riddle Jr. and then held off several challenges from the former division champion. Riddle’s bid for victory ended on the 10th circuit when he suffered a flat tire.

A late race caution bunched up the field, but Pitts was able to hold on for the victory. Shawn Cullen continued his consistent season with a second-place finish with Elliott McKinney grabbing third spot. Josh Tharp and Ranny Hinton completed the top five.

In heat race action, Riddle scored the victory in the first heat while Joe Hart was victorious in the second heat. Tharp set quick time at 19.284 seconds.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Friday, August 25 with the Chappy’s Rent to Own Weekend of Events. The MAX/WLBC Night at the Races will feature Newco Metals Legends, Insight ThunderCars & Pro ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 racing.

On Saturday, August 26, the Night of Thrills will include School Bus Figure 8’s, Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s, Roll-Over Contest, Cork Screw Race, Mattress Race, Powder Puff Front Wheel Drives along with Chappy’s’ Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.