Rodney Smith Wins 10th Annual Grant Fritz / Greg Dietzen Memorial; Rose, Miles and Warner Also Grab Victories

Story By Tom Hammond

Click to View:  Results

The season points leader in the Newco Metals Legends recorded one of the biggest wins of his career as Indianapolis’ Rodney Smith won the 10th Annual Grant Fritz / Greg Dietzen Memorial at Anderson Speedway on September 2.

Smith took the lead on the 26th of 100 laps and then held off a challenge from JD Trenary III of Bunker Hill, W.V., over the final 47 laps to score his fourth feature triumph of 2006 and he picked up a $1,000 payday. Albany’s Daniel Russell finished third followed by Addison Rogers of Winchester, Virginia, and Ryan Miles of Crystal Lake, Illinois.

The race was marred by six caution flags, including one at the end of the first lap that took out one of the contenders. Michael Bilderback of South Beloit, Illinois tapped the front stretch wall, lost a wheel and then hit the turn 1 wall hard. Bilderback was okay, but his car was retired from the event. Rogers grabbed the pole with a qualifying at a time of 13.894 seconds.

In other racing, the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 division made a Saturday night appearance. Anderson’s Nick Warner took the lead from the start and never looked back. Anderson’s Randy Owen tried to climb into contention late in the 12-lap feature, but didn’t have enough time to mount a serious challenge. Donnie Ellis Jr. finished third followed by fellow Scott Vail and David Baker.

Anderson’s Ronnie Rose dominated an attrition-marred 40-lap feature for the Ed Martin SuperTrucks. The race featured a nine-truck pileup that negated the start. Nearly all the trucks involved were able to return to the field, but many dropped out over the course of the event. Only six trucks were running at the end.

Rose took the lead from Jason Fullen on the 13th lap and quickly pulled away. Fullen retired from competition on the 29th lap, allowing Greenfield’s Josh Burton to inherit the second spot. Jerry Faucett of Kirklin then saw the engine on his truck blow two laps later, oiling the track and sending New Castle’s Mark Jones careening into the turn one wall. The resulting red flag bunched up the field, but Rose had too much for Burton down the stretch. Indianapolis’ Bob Lemen, Brandon Phillips and Brownsburg’s Tim Broyles rounded out the top five.

In preliminary action, Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck heat wins were scored by Phillips and Josh Poore. Burton paced qualifying with a time of 13.649 seconds.

Muncie’s Bret Miles Jr. seemingly came out of nowhere to win the Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stock feature. Miles was running third on the 24th of 30 laps when he roared to the outside and took over one lap later and the top spot on the 26th circuit.

Miles then rapidly pulled away for his second victory of the season. Anderson’s Jon Conklin, who led the first 25 laps, finished second. Rod Phipps made it up to third after an early race tangled with Abe Puckett. Anderson’s Ryan Buckner and New Castle’s Danny Acrey II rounded out the top five.

The first Lampco FCU Street Stock heat went to Phipps while the second heat went to Randy Hoppes. Miles led qualifying with a time of 14.234 seconds.

On Sunday, September 3, don’t miss the rescheduled Night of Thrills. The exciting lineup includes School Bus Figure 8’s, Roll-Over Contest, Mattress Race, Cork Screw Race, Powder Puff Front Wheel Drives along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives on the Oval. The Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s will also make a special appearance on Sunday night.

On Sunday, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the Thrills beginning at 6. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

Watch the NASCAR race on our big screen television provided by Chappy's Rent to Own on Sunday.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.