Buescher Wins Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial; Beaver, Boyer and Burge Also Record Wins

By Tom Hammond

Click to View Results - Photo Gallery

The “B’s” were wild at Anderson Speedway during the Star Press Saturday Night Racing Series as the Newco Metals Laboring through the Weekend concluded on Saturday, September 3.

James Buescher of Plano, Texas claimed the victory in the 9th Annual Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial for the Legends. Buescher, who also entered the Texas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle by winning the 30-lap Legends feature Friday night, took the lead on Lap 16 of the 100-lap event by passing Albany’s Daniel Russell. At the drop of the green flag, Russell took the early lead from the outside of the front row with the pole sitter Buescher right on his tail.

Buescher would never be challenged during the remainder of the race, even though the field was bunched up by six caution periods. The yellow flag laps counted during the first half of the race, while the last 50 laps had to be run under green flag conditions.

John Gottsacher of Dallas, Texas passed Michael Bilderback of South Beloit, Ill., for the second spot on the 69th lap. The two maintained that running order for the remaining 31 laps to finish second and third respectively. Tommy Jordan of Hartsville, S.C. and Elwood’s John Robbins rounded out the top five. Buescher paced qualifying with a time of 13.964seconds.

Noblesville’s Joe Beaver scored his second win as a driver and the fourth win of 2005 for the No. 14 machine in the 40-lap Ed Martin SuperTruck feature. Beaver took the lead on the 23rd lap and never looked back.

Anderson’s Ronnie Rose finished in second spot with and New Castle’s Tony Broyles placing third after both drivers were sent to the back of the pack following a front stretch tangle on the seventh circuit. Wannamaker’s Jake Flagle finished fourth with New Castle’s Mark Jones rounding out the top five.

Jones scored the victory in the first SuperTruck heat, while Flagle took top honors in the second heat. Rose led qualifying with a time of 13.538 seconds and drew a full inversion for the start.

Anderson’s Rich Boyer made it 15-for-19 in the Terry’s RV Sales and Service Street Stocks, but not without a battle and a change in his normal driving tactics. Elwood’s Bruce McFall and Anderson’s Curtis Chapman set a torrid early pace, only to see their advantage disappear with a caution period on the ninth lap when Neil Huddleston spun in the first turn.

A huge battle developed on the restart as Chapman took the lead. Anderson’s Rod Phipps and Boyer then moved into the top three as a classic duel developed when the frontrunners encountered slower traffic. Boyer has made a habit of forcing the frontrunners out of the low groove to gain and advantage, but Chapman was able to hold his line.

Boyer was forced to go to the high side to pass Chapman on the backstretch and through turns 3 and 4 on the 24th lap. He then pulled away and won by a comfortable margin. Phipps ended up second with Chapman, New Castle’s Danny Acrey II and McFall rounding out the top five.

Elwood’s Jacob McElfresh won the first street stock heat, while Chapman emerged with the victory in the second heat. Boyer continued to dominate qualifying with a time of 13.989 seconds.

Anderson’s Travis Burge picked up his third consecutive win and fifth overall victory of 2005 in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 feature. Burge and fellow Anderson drivers Nick Warner and Randy Owen shot to the front of the field on the first lap as Anderson’s Allen Wagner took the lead from the pole.

Owen took the lead on the fourth lap as he shot past Wagner in the crossover on the second of 10 laps. Not to be outdone Burge did the same thing to Owen two laps later. Warner then passed Owen for second on the sixth lap with a similar move.

At the checkers Burge held a 10-car length advantage over Warner. Randy Owen ended up third followed by Corey Elliott and Anderson’s Allen Wagner to complete the top five.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action with the Bush Trophy Case & Embroidery Sprint to the Finish. On Friday, September 9, the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series will showcase Legends, Insight ThunderCars in Oval and Figure 8 racing along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

On Saturday, September 10, the final night of the Bush Trophy Case & Embroidery Sprint to the Finish showcases the final visit of the Hoosier Outlaw Sprint Series, the world’s fastest sprint cars on the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval. The Terry’s RV Sales & Service Street Stocks and Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s will also be featured during The Star Press Saturday Night Series.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.