Armstrong, Warner, Cullen, Morris and Ellis Grab Friday Night Victories

Story By Kyle Larson

Click to View:  Results

Racing action returned to Anderson Speedway on Friday, September 8 with the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series. The lineup included the season finale for the Kenyon Midgets plus events from Insight ThunderCars, Pro ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

In the 30-lap Kenyon Midgets feature, New Castle’s Caleb Armstrong turned in a dominant performance leading flag-to-flag to earn the victory. At the start, he got the jump on Dakota Armstrong and then constructed a sizeable advantage over the rest of the field.

While Caleb Armstrong was in control of the race, eventual champion Chris Windom was making a charge through the field. At the checkered flag, Armstrong scored the victory over Kenny Biro with Windom placing third. The remainder of the top-five included Blake Fitzpatrick and Jeff Wimmenauer.

In preliminary action, West Virginia’s Cale Conley and Windom grabbed heat race wins. Megan Wood became the first female to post a Kenyon fast time with a lap of 12.604 seconds.

Scoring his fourth Insight ThunderCar victory, Nick Warner led the final 19 laps to score top honors in the 20-lap feature. Darryl Rogers sailed into the first position at the drop of the green flag, with Warner completing the race-winning pass on the second circuit.

Once Warner charged into the lead, he pulled away from the other race contenders. Following Warner across the finish line included Alexandria’s, Alice Riall, Noblesville’s Katie Beaver along with Anderson racers Dustin Burge and Jeff Dick.

Burge and Darryl Rogers won heat races while Riall was the top qualifier at 15.207 seconds.

Ending his streak of bad luck, Anderson’s Shane Cullen returned to the Winner’s Circle in the Insight ThunderCar Pro feature. Cullen got the jump of Steve Eytchison and then held off a hard-charging Brandon Leisure in the closing stages. Ronnie Phipps grabbed third-place honors with Rod Phipps and Chris Bair Sr. rounding out the top five.

Bair won the heat race while Herb Rose recorded his second consecutive fast time with an official clocking of 14.952 seconds.

In another great Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval feature, points leader Keith Morris won his eighth feature of the season. The event began with Robert Mooreland out front for the opening two circuits with Kevin Harmon then taking command of the 26-car starting field.

On lap four, Harmon’s hood came open and he dropped out of contention. That handed first position to Randy Owen. As Owen was pacing the field, Morris advanced from his sixth starting position to then battle Owen for the victory.

After a fierce battled during the second half of the event, Morris went around Owen on the 13th circuit. At the finish, Morris was followed by Devin Mitchell with David Baker in third. Jeff Wright and Brian Lewis completed the top five.

Owen and Lenny Thompson scored the heat race victories with Harmon the fast qualifier at 16.147 seconds.

Donnie Ellis Jr. returned to the Winner’s Circle in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s. Travis Burge darted into first position at the start, but dropped out at halfway. That advanced Ellis in first position and he never looked back, grabbing his third win of the season. Keith Morris was second with Baker, Owen and Robert Johnson filling out the top five.

On Saturday Night, September 9, The Star Press Saturday Night Series will showcase X2RA Midgets, Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks, Insight ThunderCup and Spectator Championships.

On Saturday Night, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

Watch the NASCAR race on our big screen television provided by Chappy’s Rent to Own.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.