Riddle Scores Two Victories; Smith Stevens and Burge Also Earn Winning Hardware

By Kyle Larson
Public Relations Director

Click to View Results

Anderson Speedway returned to racing action with the Bush Trophy Case & Embroidery Sprint to the Finish on Friday, September 9. Anderson’s Billy Riddle earned wins in the Insight ThunderCar Oval and Figure 8 divisions. Other feature winners during the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series included Rodney Smith in Legends, Brad Stevens in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval and Travis Burge in the Figure 8.

Rodney Smith captured his first Legends victory of 2005 after inheriting the lead in the later stages of the 25-lap event. At the drop of the green flag, former division champion Mike Coop charged into the first position. He paced the opening two laps with Ohio’s Bryan Nuckles grabbing the lead on the third go-around.

Nuckles held the point until a late-race challenge from Albany’s Daniel Russell. On the 22nd circuit, Nuckles and Russell made contact in turn two, bringing out the yellow flag and regulating both drivers to the tail of the lead lap. Smith grabbed the lead and held off John Robbins. Third was Danny Jackson with Coop and T.J. Sneva completing the top five.

In preliminary action, Smith and Tony Holden scored flag-to-flag victories. Russell was the top qualifier with a best lap of 14.049 seconds.

Scoring a division leading fifth checkered flag, Billy Riddle won the 20-lap Insight ThunderCar Oval feature. Jeff Dick led from the drop of the green flag until the 12th circuit, when Riddle charged into the top spot.

Riddle then held off several challenges from Brandon Phillips while they worked through lapped traffic. At the finish, Riddle and Phillips were chased by Dick, William Coffman and Colin Ratliff.

In heat race action, Alexandria’s Alice Riall and Muncie’s Bryan Smith grabbed victories. Riddle recorded the fastest lap in time trials with an official clocking of 15.233 seconds, earning a new track record.

In the Insight ThunderCar Figure 8 feature, Riddle posted a dominant victory. He sailed into the top position at the start and then drove to a comfortable win over last week’s winner Paris Swallows Jr. Point leader Terry Malone Jr. was third at the checkered flag with Roy Grissom Sr. and Steve Eytchison filling out the top five.

Brad Stevens completed a last-lap pass on Travis Burge to score an exciting victory in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval feature. Travis Erhart paced the opening two circuits with Travis Burge then taking over leadership honors on the third circuit. He held the lead until Stevens drove around him on the final lap. Dustin Burge was third with Erhart and Nick Warner rounding out the top five.

During the heat races, Warner and Erhart visited the Texas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle. Dustin Burge grabbed his ninth fast time with a lap of 16.111 seconds.

Travis Burge won a fifth consecutive Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 feature, making a lap eight pass on David Baker. At the finish, Burge placed ahead of Baker. Third was Allen Wagner with Tony Bargo fourth and Corey Elliott completing the top five.

On Saturday, September 10, the Hoosier Outlaw Sprint Series makes a final visit to Anderson Speedway. Don’t miss the world’s fastest sprint cars on the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval. The Terry’s RV Sales & Service Street Stocks and Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s will also be featured during The Star Press Saturday Night Series.

On Saturday Night, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.