McGinley, Riall, Riddle, Folsom and Warner Record Friday Night Feature Wins

By Kyle Larson
Public Relations Director

Click to View Results

Anderson Speedway returned to racing action on Friday, September 16 with the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series showcasing Scott McGinley winning in the Legends, Alice Riall earning the Insight ThunderCar Oval victory and Billy Riddle taking ThunderCar Figure 8 top honors. Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval victory went to Sam Folsom with the Figure 8 victory awarded to Nick Warner.

Camby’s Scott McGinley drove to his first season victory in the 25-lap Legends feature. 2005 point contender John Robbins grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag, getting the jump on Mike Carroll and Trent Henderson.

Robbins paced the opening 19 laps with McGinley making a pass using the lower groove to take the lead. Daniel Russell followed McGinley around Robbins At the finish, McGinley held off Russell for the win. Robbins placed third with T.J. Sneva and Craig Haack completing the top-five finishers.

In heat race action, Robbins and Greenfield’s Tony Holden grabbed the winning hardware. Daniel Russell scored his ninth fast time of the season with an official clocking of 13.929 seconds.

Alexandria’s Alice Riall recorded her fourth Insight ThunderCar Oval victory, making a mid-race pass on Roy Grissom Sr. and driving to a comfortable win over a hard-charging Billy Riddle. Third at the finish was Brandon Phillips with William Coffman in fourth position and Josh Myers earning fifth-place honors.

Anderson’s Josh Myers and Muncie’s Ed Knott visited the Texas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle during ThunderCar Oval heat races. Paris Swallows grabbed quick time honors with a lap of 15.334 seconds.

Billy Riddle won his seventh Insight ThunderCar Figure 8 feature after bypassing Terry Malone Jr. on the sixth circuit. Riddle then held off a late-race challenge from Paris Swallows Jr. Third at the finish was Malone with James Peterson and Tim Nickerson rounding out the top-five finishers.

In Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive oval action, Sam Folsom scored his sixth win of the 2005 season. Katie Beaver grabbed the lead at the start with Jerry Smith taking over the point the second go-around. Folsom completed the race-winning pass on the 11th circuit, driving around the outside of Smith.

At the conclusion of the 15-lap event, Folsom was followed by Travis Burge, Jerry Smith, Nick Warner and point leader Dustin Burge. In preliminary action, Brad Stevens and Kevin Harmon earned victories in heat race action. Dustin Burge posted the fastest qualifying time at 16.000 seconds.

Nick Warner turned in dominating performance in the 10-lap Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 feature. He sailed into the first position at the start and never looked back, pacing the entire distance. At the checkers, Mt. Summit’s Keith Morris was second with Randy Owen, David Baker and Travis Burge filling out the top five.

Anderson Speedway returns to action on Saturday, September 17 with The Star Press Saturday Night Series featuring the final season appearance of Super Late Models. Plus Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8’s, Indy URL Stock Cars and Limited Late Models.

On Saturday Night, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

On Sunday afternoon, don’t miss the inaugural USAC Ford Focus National Championships on the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval. The Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks will also be featured during this special Sunday afternoon program.

On Sunday Afternoon, spectator gates open at noon with racing beginning at 3 p.m. Admission is $15 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.