Baker, Russell, Blair and Riddle Pick Up Feature Wins

By Tom Hammond

Click to View Results

The Super Late Models, Limited Late Models and Indy URL Stock Cars joined the Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky and Figure 8’s during The Star Press Saturday Night Racing Series at Anderson Speedway on September 17.

Daleville’s Bull Baker picked up the win in the final appearance of the Super Late Models during the 40-lap feature punctuated by a spectacular first-lap accident. Louisville, Ky., racer Robert Ohlman, Anderson 400 champion Bobby Parsley, Nick Adams and Kent Baledge all tangled in turn three, causing damage to each of the cars. Parsley, Ohlmann and Adams were not able to continue.

Greenfield’s Kenny Tweedy took the lead on the restart and built a comfortable advantage, only to see mechanical troubles end his night on the ninth circuit. Baker then took the point and cruised to a straightaway win over Bloomington’s Kent Robinson. Baledge finished third, followed by Jeff Stith and Donald Karr Jr. to complete the top five.

Stith took the win in the first Super Late Model heat, while Baledge was victorious in the second heat. Parsley led qualifying with a lap of 12.261 seconds at 73.403 mph.

Frankton’s Wes Russell Jr. had a big night in the Limited Late Models. He won the feature race after setting a new track record in qualifying. Russell took the lead on the 14th of 30 laps when Anderson’s Mike Riddle Jr. retired with mechanical difficulties.

Russell was able to hold off a stiff challenge from Anderson’s Jason Fullen over the remaining laps to score the victory. Markleville’s David Fox III, New Castle’s Terry Cater and Anderson’s Jon Conklin rounded out the top five.

Russell started off his successful foray onto the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval by qualifying with a track record speed of 13.034 seconds at 69.050 mph. Riddle won the first Limited Late Model heat while Mooreland’s Scott Runyon took top honors in the second heat.

Danville’s Steve Blair scored the feature win and a heat win in the Indy United Racing League (URL) Stock Cars. Blair took the lead on the 12th of 30 laps after Mooresville’s Bob Dumke and Indianapolis’ Stuart Quakenbush tangled in turn 3. Quakenbush saw his night come to an end, while Dumke was able to continue and finished ninth.

Blair and Brownsburg’s Jeff Ellis pulled away from the pack after the incident and were nose-to-tail four laps from the finish. Dumke spun again one lap later, bringing out the yellow flag and bunching up the field. Blair then pulled away on the restart to score a comfortable win. Ellis, Chip Dowell, Brownsburg’s Chad Gaskill and Greenfield’s Tim Ewers completed the top five.

Blair also finished in the top spot in the first Indy URL heat, while Jeremy Branscum led the field to the checkered flag in the second heat. Blair led qualifying with an official clocking of 13. 598 seconds at 66.186 mph.

Former division champion Mike Riddle Jr. picked up his fifth feature win of 2005 in the Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8 feature. He started on the outside of the front row alongside pole sitter and fast qualifier Josh Tharp of Noblesville.

Riddle charged into the lead at the drop of the green flag flew and built a comfortable lead by the half-way point on his way to a flag-to-flag victory. Tharp, current point leader Curtis Chapman, Ronnie Phipps and Ronnie Rose filled the top five.

Ronnie Phipps won the first Boss Hogg Catering & Jerky Figure 8 heat with Elliott McKinney winning the second heat. Tharp led qualifying with a time of 20.289 seconds.

On Sunday afternoon, don’t miss the inaugural USAC Ford Focus National Championships on the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval. The Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks will also be featured during this special Sunday afternoon program.

On Sunday Afternoon, spectator gates open at noon with racing beginning at 3 p.m. Admission is $15 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.