Riall Wins Insight ThunderCup; McGinley, Swallows, Dustin and Travis Burge Also Victorious

By Kyle Larson
Public Relations Director

Click to View Results

The 2005 MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series concluded at Anderson Speedway on Friday, September 30 on the opening night of the Chappy’s Rent to Own Weekend of Events.

Alice Riall won the Insight ThunderCup with Scott McGinley earning the Legends victory and Paris Swallows Jr. claiming top honors in the Insight ThunderCar Figure 8’s. Dustin Burge won the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval feature with Travis Burge returning to the Texas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle in the Figure 8 division.

In the first Insight ThunderCup, Alexandria’s Alice Riall was awarded the victory after Josh Myers crossed the line first, but was disqualified for not passing technical inspection. The 30-lap feature began with Greenfield’s Marshall Thompson darting into the top spot at the drop of the green flag. He led the opening 11 circuits.

On the 12th go-around, Paris Swallows Jr. drove around Thompson to become the new race leader. Then on the 18th circuit, Swallows was involved in an accident on the backstretch and he was forced to start on the tail of the field.

That handed the lead to Myers, who would pace the remaining 12 circuits. After Myers was disqualified, Riall grabbed the victory. Anderson’s Paris Swallows Jr. placed second with Tim Dick in third position. Roy Grissom Sr. and Thompson completed the top five.

In preliminary action, Riall and Grissom Sr. visited the Teas Roadhouse Winner’s Circle in heat race action. Billy Riddle was the top qualifier at 15.303 seconds at 58.812 mph.

The 25-lap Legends feature began with Mike Carroll sailing into the first position, pacing the opening four circuits. On the fifth lap, Rodney Smith was up front. He led until the 16th go-around, when Scott McGinley completed the race-wining pass after a great battle with Smith for the race win.

At the checkered flag, McGinley finished just 0.240 seconds in front of Smith. Third was Tim George with T.J. Sneva and Paul Holden completing the top-five. In heat race action, Smith and Wes Rohrabaugh grabbed victories. McGinley recorded the quickest time in time trials at 14.002 seconds at 64.277 mph.

In the 15-lap Insight ThunderCar Figure 8 feature, Paris Swallows turned in a dominating performance, earning a flag-to-flag victory. At the finish, Billy Riddle finished second to the winning machine of Swallows. Third was Robert Brumback with Darryl Rogers and Jesse King completing the top five.

Recently crowned champion Dustin Burge scored the victory in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval division. Bobby Jo Elliott led from the drop of the green flag, holding the lead the opening nine circuits. On the 10th go-around, Dustin Burge completed the pass to take the lead.

At the checkers, Burge was chased by Allen Wagner, Brad Stevens, Devin Mitchell and Jeff Saxon. Josh Wood and Bobby Jo Elliott were winners of heat races. Dustin Burge set a new track record in qualifying with an official clocking of 15.771 seconds.

Travis Burge continued his strong performance in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s with notching another feature win. He passed Allen Wagner on the third circuit and never looked back. At the finish, Dustin Burge placed second with Cale Ramey, Nick Warner and Allen Wagner completing the top five.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday Night, October 1, with the Benson Motorcycles Night of Thrills. Don’t miss the new lineup of events that include School Bus Figure 8’s, Powder Puff School Bus Figure 8’s, Train Races, Cork Screw Race, Spectator Races, Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 racing and Powder Puff Front Wheel Drives.

On Saturday Night, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.