Morris, Bair and Leisure Record Feature Victories On First Night of Stock Car Festival

Story By Tom Hammond

Click to View:  Results

A couple of wild finishes highlighted the first night of the 9th Annual Stock Car Festival. Fans were treated to 12 different divisions in both heat and feature action on a cool fall night at the Worldís Fastest Quarter-Mile Oval.

The Chappyís Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 feature appeared to go to Andersonís Randy Owen after a tight battle with Mt. Summitís Keith Morris over the last two laps. However Owen was relegated to the tail of the lead lap due to rough driving, giving Morris the win. Andersonís David Baker was 2nd, followed by New Castleís Dean Morris, Owen and Andersonís Robert Johnson.

Andersonís Chris Bair Sr. scored a comfortable win in the Insight ThunderCar oval feature despite heavy lapped traffic throughout the 20-lap event. Bair actually banged into the wall at one point as he attempted to navigate the slower cars. The machines running in positions 2-5 also had difficulty getting through the back-markers as the race progressed. Anderson drivers Jason Pitts, Rich Boyer, Rob Allman and Rod Phipps rounded out the top five.

The Chappyís Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive oval feature produced a last-lap pass by Andersonís Jack Leisure for the win. The rookie went underneath Andersonís David Baker in turns 3 and 4 on the 15th and final circuit as Baker apparently had a tire deflate. Baker had built a sizeable lead over the first 14 laps, only to see it go away as the checkered flag flew. Baker still managed to finish 2nd, followed by Andersonís Devin Mitchell, Morris and Alexandriaís Kevin Harmon.

Nine other divisions competed in heat races. The night started off with two Ed Martin SuperTruck heats. Muncieís Bret Miles Sr. took the top spot in the first heat. Andersonís Ronnie Rose was victorious in the second heat.

The Ford Focus Midgets then added some open-wheel variety to the racing card. James Robertson, who won the Newco Metals Legends title in 2004, won the first heat. Chet Gehrke took the checkered flag in the second heat.

The Indy URL Stock Cars then made an appearance, with Jeff Ellis scored the first heat victory. Dave Kinney took the win in the second heat.

The Newco Metals Legends then put on quite a show in their single heat event. Cottontown, Tennesseeís David Moyes III and Franktonís John Robbins staged a memorable 1-2 battle. Robbins tried to get around Moyes on the 10th and final lap, only to have the front end of his car become lodged on top of the rear of Moyesí machine. Both cars slowly crossed the finish line literally hooked together.

The Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks provided two solid heat events. Andersonís Ronnie Phipps won the first heat. Mike Williams scored the victory in the second 10-lap event.

The Indy URL Pro Trucks then made an appearance. Indianapolisís Steve Blair led the field for the first heat win. Avonís Kerry Roseman won the second heat.

The Mini Stocks then staged a ten lap heat. Mark Mason captured the ten-lap race with Lynn Dager second.

The final heat race of the night featured the Boss Hogg BBQ Jerky and Catering Figure 8 cars. Andersonís Rod Phipps inherited the win after fellow Anderson driver Michael Phipps was sent to the back of the field for rough driving on the final lap.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.